A Supernatural Mystery Across the Ages

Cover of Midwinterblood by Marcus SedgwickMidwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick. New York : Roaring Brook Press, 2013.

When Eric Seven, a journalist, visits Blessed Island in the year 2073, he feels an instant connection to Merle. Is it love at first sight, or something more mysterious? Told in a series of seven short stories progressing backwards through time, the mysteries of Blessed Island and Merle and Eric’s relationship deepen, until the final story explains all.

Midwinterblood is a layered and complex novel that will reward careful reading and re-reading. The interrelationships between all of the characters and situations aren’t immediately clear. But the symbolism is rich and the island is a beguiling setting. The changing name of the island through time hints at the underlying theme of sacrifice and renewal. In fact, the book could be read as a series of sacrifices for the good of others.

This dark romance left me thinking about it long after I had finished. I completely understand the urge expressed by some reviewers to re-read it in reverse. I actually felt like I should take notes as I went back through it. I know I didn’t completely follow who was who the first time through. Midwinterblood is a perfect book for someone who likes a bit of depth to their supernatural romance. In fact, it would probably be a good fit for analysis in a high school literature class.

4 1/2 stars

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Book reviews, YA books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Supernatural Mystery Across the Ages

  1. I need to put this one on my list for the challenge. Sounds like something I’d really like.

Leave a Reply

