Hub Challenge Week 3 Update

2014 Hub Reading Challenge Participant BadgeThis week I finished another two books, and they weren’t graphic novels this time. One was I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak. The other was the audio book of Zombie Baseball Beatdown by Paolo Bacigalupi, read by Sanil Malhotra. That’s six books so far.

As a bonus, each of these titles checked off an Award or List from the Challenge. I like to be sure to read at least one book from each category. So far I’ve read from the Edwards Award, Excellence in Nonfiction, Morris Award, Stonewall Book Award, Top 10 Amazing Audio Books, Top 10 Graphic Novels, and Quick Picks. That leaves the Odyssey Award, the Prinz Award, Schneider Family Book Award, Top 10 Fiction, and Top 10 Popular Paperbacks. Technically I could count Courage Has No Color for the Popular Paperbacks list. But I read it for the Nonfiction Challenge and prefer not to count it again.

I was a bit surprised at how many of the books in the Challenge I had read over the last year. I guess I’m doing a better job of keeping up with new books as they come out. That also means that this year’s Challenge will push me even more outside my normal reading. I won’t re-read a book to be able count it, unless I’m already looking for an excuse to re-read it. That means the choices left are more likely be titles that didn’t immediately appeal to me the first time I encountered them.

A positive result from my Challenge reading was that I was able yesterday to put Imprisoned: The Betrayal of Japanese Americans During World War II
by Martin Sandler in the hands of a couple of teens doing a school project. As soon as they asked for books on the internment camps, I knew exactly what to give them.

This week I’m listening to Eleanor and Park, which will check off the Odyssey Award. Otherwise, I’ve got some non-Challenge reading I need to catch up on.

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Book reviews, YA books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

