Hub Challenge Week 2 Update

Hub Reading Challenge Participant BadgeI finished two more books this week, Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong by Prudence Shen and Faith Erin Hicks (review) and Will & Whit by Laura Lee Gulledge. That brings me to four completed out of 25, not counting the 10 Nonfiction and Morris Award titles. I’m slightly concerned that 3 of the 4 titles are graphic novels. So my progress isn’t quite as quick as it first appears. There are only a few more graphic novels available to me, so I need to buckle down and read some of the other titles. The problem is that I already have a huge To Read pile that I can’t afford to ignore. But it’s still early days.

Cover of Will & Whit by Laura Lee GulledgeI did enjoy Will & Whit, though not quite as much as Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong. There were a couple of things that really stood out for me. I liked the way Gulledge used stippling for shadows that were part of Will’s imagination, as if they were the shadows in her past haunting her. I thought it was a very effective technique. As someone who lives and works in Charlottesville, VA, I enjoyed the fact that the book is set there. I recognized the Freedom of Speech Wall, the downtown mall, Chaps, and the fondness for cupcake shops. Overall, the story seemed to lack a little depth. Things wrapped up a bit too neatly for me. Still, I enjoyed it and will recommend it to my teens, if only for them to see a bit of their hometown in the pages of a book.

I’m currently listening to Zombie Baseball Beatdown by Paolo Bacigalupi, read by Sunil Malhotra. I’ve finished 2 of the 5 discs. It’s OK so far, but not really grabbing me. But I can certainly see an audience for it. I’m hoping to get a start on I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak this week. But I need to read another non-Challenge book off my pile before I do that.

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Book reviews, YA books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

