Reading Challenge – Belated Week 4 Update

After so much progress in Week 3, I really slowed down in Week 4. I finished two books and an audio book. One of those books was a graphic novel that was a pretty quick read. I did manage to check off another list this week, the Top Ten Amazing Audio Books. My total progress so far, not counting titles from the Morris and Nonfiction Challenge, is 15. So I’m well over half way to 25.

Cover of Dodger by Terry PratchettDodger by Terry Pratchett
How did I miss including this in my Week 3 update?!? It is one of my favorite books of 2012. So I decided to indulge in re-reading it for the challenge. I really love Dodger, the disreputable urchin with a heart. I also enjoyed the way Pratchett depicts Dickens in the story, not to mention the wonderful cameo appearance of the Demon Barber of Fleet Street. I am a big Terry Pratchett fan and suspect that once this book comes out in paperback, it will be added to my rather impressive collection of Discworld books.

Image of case for audiobook, Wonder by R. J. PalacioWonder by R. J. Palacio, read by Diana Steele, Nick Podehl, and Kate Rudd.
I had read the book last June and really liked it. But the audio book really brought the story to life for me. I connected with the characters in a way I didn’t with the print version. It really is an Amazing Audiobook! Don’t miss this one!

Cover of Ultimate Comics Spider-Man by Brian Michael BendisUltimate Comics Spider-Man by Brian Michael Bendis
I’m not a big fan of  super hero comics. But I did enjoy this newest version of Spider-Man. I am intrigued by the transition from Peter Parker to a much younger Miles Morales. This was another graphic novel that my husband grabbed from my reading pile. Neither of us would have read this book if not for the Challenge.

Cover of Seraphina by Rachel HartmanSeraphina by Rachel Hartman
This was my second re-read of the Challenge, not counting the Tamora Pierce quartets. I try to avoid re-reading in order to force myself to read outside my normal comfort zone. But as with Dodge, I couldn’t help myself. I loved this book every bit as much the second time through. Wow! The number of details I missed on the first reading! This story is so rich in detail that I wonder what I am still missing. I had recommended Seraphina to one of my coworkers. This week she also finished it and told me that I was absolutely right. She is as eager to see the sequel as I am. I don’t buy many books, since my shelves are already overflowing. But I will be buying my own copy of this one.

During the rest of this week, I am hoping to finish Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt to check off the Alex Award List. Then it’s on to Somebody Please Tell Me Who I Am by Harry Mazer and Peter Lerangisand, the Schneider Family Book Award winner. And if we get snowed in, as seems possible, I may even get to The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart. That would be one title from every list, and my mini-goal achieved.

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Book reviews, YA books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

