ALA Youth Media Awards

ALA Youth Media Awards headingYouth Services librarians across the country are counting down to tomorrow’s announcement of the ALA Youth Media Awards (January 28, 2013 at 8 a.m. PST, 11 a.m. EST). Many of those who are not attending the ALA Mid-Winter Meeting will watch the announcements on a live webcast. 2013’s celebration includes a special landmark, the 75th Anniversary of the Caldecott Medal.

Since I have read all of the books on both the Morris Award and Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults Award shortlists, I am especially eager to find out which books win those awards. As a librarian, I will feel obligated to read all of the award winners. But, beyond that, I will probably make a point to try to read all of the short-listed titles.

I think I may have a bit of an unusual perspective on the awards. While I am looking forward to seeing the winners, I am much more interested in seeing the short lists and honor books. Let’s face it, we don’t always agree with the committee’s choice of winner. But you can pretty much count on the short list to be a good representation of the best titles in that award’s category.

The one problem with focusing my reading on the awards list is that all of those books were published last year. So I am not paying as much attention to the newly published books. Since I know The Hub will be having another reading challenge in the Spring, I think I’ll hold off on reading from the Awards List and focus on those books already on my To Be Read shelf and keeping an eye out for next year’s potential award winners. Oh, and let’s not forget my personal Notable Books for Children discussion list challenge. How do people who are on the various awards committees find time to read so many books?!?

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Book reviews, Children's books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

