Challenge Progress – Week 3

Three weeks down, four to go, and I am more than halfway through the challenge! So far I have read four of the five on the Nonfiction Award shortlist and two of the Morris Award finalists. Six books read, four to go with four weeks to finish. I think I can do this.

Nonfiction
Cover of Steve Jobs: The Man Who Thought Different by BlumenthalThis week I read Steve Jobs: The Man Who Thought Different by Karen Blumenthal. I really enjoyed this book. Blumenthal tells the story of a complex man who was brilliant but not always likeable. As an devoted Apple product user (I’m writing this post on a MacBook Pro), I thought I appreciated his importance. But I really did not fully understand the scope of his influence. How did I miss his role in Pixar? And has the iPhone really only been around since 2007? It feels like I’ve had one forever. I really liked the graphical time line at the back of the book. I’ve been putting off reading Walter Isaacson’s biography of Jobs. Let’s face it, the size of that book is daunting. But now I think I’ll have to set aside time to read it. I want to learn more about this amazing man who had such an impact our lives.

Morris Award
Cover of Seraphina by Rachel HartmanThe Morris Award nominee I read this week was Seraphina by Rachel Hartman. I loved, loved, loved it! I absolutely love stories about dragons. I am a huge fan of Anne McCaffrey’s Pern series. Seraphina is a fresh take on dragons where dragons and humans are in conflict. Seraphina is a half-breed. Neither humans nor dragons believe such half-breeds should exist. So Seraphina and others like her are outsiders to both worlds. But Seraphina may hold the key to linking those worlds and to linking the half dragon-half humans to each other. I’m still sorting through my reactions to this book. I am looking forward to reading it again and plan to write a full review. I have already started recommending it. I can’t wait for the next book to be published! Have I mentioned that I loved this book? Can I give 6 stars instead of 5?

Since my progress on the Challenge has been so good, I’m taking a break and reading Huntress by Malinda Lo next. It has been on my “To Be Read” pile for way too long. After that I’ll return to the challenge with Bomb: The Race to Build -and Steal- the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin. I have noticed as I’ve read the Nonfiction Award nominees, that many of these books are by the same authors as previous award winners or nominees. I can begin to identify authors whose works I definitely want to read in the future, whether or not they show up on an award list.

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Book reviews, YA books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

