Challenge Progress – Week 2

Seals for the YALSA Morris Award and Excellence in Nonfiction AwardThis week I made much better progress, finishing three books. I read two more nonfiction titles: Moonbird: A Year on the Wind with the Great Survivor B95 by Phillip Hoose and Titanic: Voices from the Disaster by Deborah Hopkinson.  That brings my total for the nonfiction challenge to 3 of 5. I am really looking forward to Bomb: The Race to Build and Steal the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin. I decided to just buy the Morris Award finalists that my library doesn’t have yet. So I started reading for that challenge and finished Wonder Show by Hannah Barnaby. I’m currently reading Seraphina by Rachel Hartman and loving it! Love and Other Perishable Items is sitting on my desk and the final two books are awaiting pickup at the book store.

Cover of Moonbird by Phillip HooseMoonbird: A Year on the Wind with the Great Survivor B95 by Phillip Hoose. Farrar Straus Giroux: 2012.
This is a wonderful book and I completely fell in love with this plucky little bird! It follows one annual migration from the far Southern tip of South America to the Arctic Circle in Canada and back again. Hoose conveys an serious ecological message without ever feeling preachy. Profiles introduce an international team dedicated to the survival of this incredible species. Maps of the migration route really bring home just how far these birds fly every year in a way numbers alone cannot convey. I thought this book was so good that I am writing a review for our library website in the hopes of convincing more people to read it.

Cover of Titanice: Voices from the Disaster by Debroah HopkinsonTitanic: Voices From the Disaster by Deborah Hopkinson. Scholastic Press: 2012 
I am one of those rare people who really aren’t interested in the Titanic. I’m just not interested in reading any more about the disaster. In fact, I’ve never even watched the movie. So I would never have read this book if it weren’t for the challenge. I can’t say that I’ve become a fan of all things Titanic after reading it. But it is definitely a well-written book that is certain to appeal to those with even the smallest interest in the subject. Hopkinson tells the story through the words and experiences of those who survived the sinking. Yet the narrative does not feel choppy or disjointed. It is a compelling story, well-told and illustrated with some great historical photographs, which were the most interesting part of the book for me.

Cover of Wonder Show by Hannah BarnabyWonder Show by Hannah Barnaby. Houghton Mifflin Books for Children: 2012
Portia Remini is a resident of McGreavy’s Home for Wayward Girls. Everyone in her family has moved away and finally, her Aunt leaves her at the Home. But Portia runs away to join Mosco’s Traveling Wonder Show and search for her father. But Mister has promised her that she cannot leave, that he will always find her. She is an oddity, a normal among freaks at the show. This book is about the power of stories, about family and about belonging. I really enjoyed it and look forward Hannah Barnaby’s future books with anticipation.

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Book reviews, YA books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

