Best of the Best Challenge: Week 9 Update

This was the week that I finished the challenge! I’m going to keep reading and see if I can manage to hit 35 titles by the end of June.

Pavement Chalk Artist: The Three-Dimensional Drawings of Julian Beever by Julian Beever.

I really enjoyed this book a lot. Beever’s chalk drawings are absolutely amazing and I found the stories of their creation fascinating.

Ghostopolis by Doug Ten Napel

This was an OK read, but not great. Other graphic novels that I read for the challenge had more depth to the story and the characters. That said, it was fun and makes a great choice for the Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers List. Since our library had so few of the graphic novels in the challenge, I thought it was important for me to read as many of them as I could.

I am nearly finished listening to the audio of Rotters by Daniel Kraus. This is not the sort of book I would normally read or listen to. I’m not dealing with some of the disgusting aspects of the story very well. However, Kraus has still managed to make me care about Joey. I’d recommend this book for someone who has a stronger stomach than I do.

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Book reviews, YA books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

