I’m taking the challenge!

YALSA’s 2012 Best of the Best Reading Challenge has begun and I am taking the challenge. Between April 1 and June 30, I need to read, or listen to, at least 25 titles from the various YALSA award winners and honor books. There are 80 to choose from, including a number of audio books. So I will have no trouble finding great things to read without going back and revisiting any of the eight I have already done. Format does matter, so listening to an audio book when a print book is on the list does not count. Nor does reading the book when the audio version has been honored.

I will be posting my progress here, with reflections on each book I read.  I will also track them on my LibraryThing account in a YALSA Best of the Best Challenge collection. (If you have trouble with the above link, my user name is AngelaCinVA.)

The first book I plan to read is Everybody Sees the Ants by A.S. King (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2011). It was already on my To Be Read pile, so I can jump right in to the challenge without having to wait for my library hold requests to arrive.

Here’s a quick list of what I have already read or listened to. I highly recommend all of these:

  1. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, Alex Award
  2. Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley, winner of both the Printz Award and the Morris Award
  3. The Notorious Benedict Arnold: A True Story of Adventure, Heroism, & Treachery by Steve Sheinkin, Nonfiction Award
  4. Music Was IT by Susan Goldman Rubin, Nonfiction Honor Book
  5. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater, Printz Honor Book and Top 10 Best Fiction
  6. Chime by Frannie Billingsley, audio read by Susan Duerden, Top 10 Audiobooks
  7. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, Top 10 Best Fiction
  8. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, Top 10 Best Fiction. (Technically this doesn’t count anyway because I listened to the audio version. But I still won’t repeat the title.)

Are you up to the challenge? Find out more:
YALSA’s 2012 Best of the Best Reading Challenge

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Book reviews, YA books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

